Confessions of a Legionnaire – A Bad Company 2 Legion of Honor Story


The sun shone brightly, a gentle breeze fluttering the leaves above me.  Snow crunched beneath my boots and the blue hues glinting all around left me cold, the M-14 in my hands feeling even more real as I scanned the horizon of Port Valdez. I spiked my buddy with an ammo crate as I spouted into the mic with a grin, “just keep spamming those candygrams (our lingo for motion mines).”

I may not have  been  able to see  it, but I imagined Jamez looking up at me with a  wink as he  intoned,  ”left-flank recon set” which was my cue to haul  back to the  townhouse,  up to the second floor window overlooking both  the ridge and  Alpha  crate. I had barely set up my fire lane when the  mini map lit up  a  candygram tango-dance. My headset came alive with  simultaneous calls  of,  ”CONTACT left!”

That’s when the shooting started.
I  fired  on  a silhouette and watched it drop as I hollered out and  heard  similar  calls of “tango down.” I saw the lazy trail of a rocket  burst  from our  rear as a callout buzzed over comms that no  ground-pounder  wants to hear  on the battlefield, “Heavy tank rolling  up the main road”  followed by a  new gut-wrenching call,  ”he blew our  mines! Dig in.  Spawn on Ben and  bring rockets.”

It was  somewhere around the  completion of “…spawn  on…” that the building I  was in erupted around me  in a cloud of dust  and a blood-red tinged  screen. “Incoming on Bravo  crate!” Shapes moved  around me. I fired.  Comms were blazing about the  tank. I watched the  counter on my M-14  rounds tick to zero. I heard  distant explosions rip  the day apart. How  was I still alive? Hadn’t I  been on the second floor?  Switching over  to my sidearm I plowed 5  rounds into the dusty hole that  used to be my  cover, watching hit  markers light up around an emerging  red beret as  the enemy medic’s PKM  lit me up. We both went down in a  hail of  bullets.

And that was my first 30 seconds in the Legion of Honor.

The  Legion  is  a community of gamers, built by gamers that all share  one  express  directive in common–Fun First. As a mission statement, it  seems  almost  implicit in its obviousness for a gaming clan. Yet, more  often  than  not, this defining statement guides not only what we do,  but how we  do  it and whom we do it with. Our founder, LoH MCTJim had  this to say  on  the topic, “we had a plan from the start, we had a  vision and  things  change for the better everyday. New things are added  almost  daily. We  have a great group of creative people here.”

Since  those  infamous  first 30 seconds, we’ve built the Legion to several  hundred  members  over several game platforms. But without doubt since  our  inception,  Battlefield has remained one of our two largest  game  franchises. LoH  Vader gave me her impression on being a founder  the  clan, “building and  shaping Bad Company 2 into one of the  strongest in  our community was  beyond rewarding and the members make  it a great  legion to lead and be a  part of. My goal, at all times, has  been to set  the foundation for the  citizens of the Legion to grow and  appreciate  the Battlefield  experience.”

Part of our  uniqueness is our  process. From LoH  MCTJim, “The Battlefield Legion  has always been a big  draw for our clan  and community. We have a very  hard working group of  people that run that  Legion. They are on top of  everything. From  recruiting to the end  process of training them to  become a member, this  Legion and its staff  are always looking for ways  to improve and  streamline the experience of  the Legion; not only for  the new Recruit,  but for its own staff and  current members. They all  have a passion for  what they do. Some of their  policies have been  implemented across all  game franchises that we  support. I constantly  see their pride in the  game and community shine  through their work. I  have seen the results  personally and you can just  tell they all love  what they are doing.”

Every  day I log into  our site and  welcome the newest Legionnaires of the  clan to the  Battlefield Legion,  which inevitably leaves me in wonder  over how we got  so big and how  we attract so many great members. Xx  Cohoona xX and I  were pondering,  what do we really have in common? He  had this to say, “I  have been  blessed with the opportunity to get to  know many of the  members of the  Legion and I am astounded at the  diversity in  personalities and  lifestyles, how few things we have in  common. Despite  this, we all  treat each other with respect which is a  hard quality to  find in the  online gaming realm. We all love to meet on  Mondays and  Wednesdays at  8Pm EST in order to throw resistance at the  enemy, shoot  some digital  faces with a 40mm shotgun, and share some  hearty laughter.”

That’s  when  it hits me. It’s not that we’re  good players, though most of  our  Battlefield players are listed in the  top 10,000 and several are  up in  the top 1,000. It’s also not that  we’re all professional, our  members  range from executives to unemployed  starving students. No,  it’s also not  that we all have a military  background, though we have a  veterans group  that spans every armed  service with combat vets from  every conflict in  the last 40 years. When  we have members in good  health, some are  inevitably in poor health.  When one is training for a  sport, there is  always another just plopping  down on the couch. When  I’m going to work,  someone is coming home from  it. Our Battlefield  members alone span the  globe. The sun literally  never sets on the  Legion of Honor.

The  dichotomy of our members  is a big part of  the Legion’s strength. We come  from all walks of life  with vast  differences between us socially,  economically, racially,  nationally  and internet connectivally.  When we  get in game and  participate in  the shared experience of the Legion of  Honor, we are one  in our  unanimous drive to have fun and support one  another. It creates  a  brotherhood of players dedicated to having a good  time and making  sure  our brothers are finding a good time as well. In  the end  that  generally means we challenge one another to get better, we  take  down  the other team, and we have a lot of laughs in the process.  Many  of us  got started here because we were tired of being pwned by  randoms  that  didn’t share our ideals. “Fun first” served as a rally cry  to  bring  several hundred like minded gamers together under friendship.

I  can  barely  begin to describe how wonderful it is to go into a game  and  test the  mettle of the other team when I know the Legion has my  back. I  may  have been downed in my first 30 seconds, but the battle had  only  just  begun.

I was watching the kill cam hover around  my  corpse.  ”Frag out!” came the call from Ben. A grenade flew into  my  former  position, thudding explosively to be sure the room was  clear.  Through  the smoke and dust a medic with a green name floating  over his  head  bounded in, paddles in hand. “Zombie, standby for  pickup!” The  world  went white for a moment and the thump of the defib  paddles  reverberated  in my Turtle Beach’s. I was up, reanimated with  three  rounds in my  sidearm. The smoke cleared in Bravo house and an  eerie  quiet settled  around us.

We had repulsed the first wave.  I dropped an ammo box  and the points started to roll in as we all  geared  up for the next wave.  ”Maddy, put some candygrams out towards the bottle neck.” The mini map instantly started to blip as the  motion  mines flew, acting as our early  warning system. We knew we had a minute before the armor would re-spawn.

“Zombie, get your C4 on the road. A dollar says they come back  up the middle.” With that, I flew out the door to set up the next  defense.

While firefights  are  fun and overwhelmingly our most  common experience, these aren’t  the  only moments I think of when I think  of the Legion. I said before  we  have both executive office and  unemployed members. Christmas can  be  rough if you fall into the latter  category. One of the  first  Legion-wide events we held was a volunteer  gift drive to help  save  Christmas for one of our members. I’m proud of  that. I’m proud  that  we’re more than gaming compatriots. We have meet  ups when time  and  distance allow. We offer advice to one another. We  support members  if  we can–from which car to buy to ensuring Santa stops  at every  house  with little Legionnaires in it. All we ask from our  members  is  honorable intent. Yet we are constantly amazed with how, to a  man,  they  exceed those expectations with honorable action.

We’ve  been  able  to build this organization on friendships that have lasted  for  years.  It creates a trust that we bestow on each member when they  join.  We  welcome them to the trust of honor that is the Legion. It is  for  them  to uphold what we’ve built by making them a part of the  whole.  To  paraphrase from Henry the Fifth, “We few, we happy few, we  band  of  brothers; for he today that sheds his pixels with me shall  be  my  brother.”

Confessions of a Legionnaire

by LoH Zombie

(Source: legionofhonorclan.com)

~ by legionofhonorblog on September 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
